October Update

Hello all! (Yep, that means Mom and the two other people who read this blog..ha ha…)

Fall is here! The leaves here in Southeastern Iowa should be reaching their peak in the next week or so. It’s my favorite season, by far. Not that I enjoy the fact that winter is just around the corner, but I just love the crispness of the fall air and the colorful display of the trees. I love watching the harvest, and I love how big the moon looks in the Autumn sky.

Fall also marks another milestone, in that it’s almost a year ago that Lady was rescued from her life as a breeding dog at the puppy mill. I wish I could say that a year has cured her of the behaviors that life has taught her, but we’re not there yet. Honestly, we may never be, completely. The vet that did her first intake estimated her to be around 10 years old. (Can a dog really have puppies for THAT many years??? I can’t imagine!) If she’s really that old, she has lived far more years under those horrible conditions than many dogs do. And while you can teach an old dog some new tricks, there’s probably a limit. I have to say though, she is much better than some mill dogs I’ve heard about. I guess I just hoped that I could reach her even more over the course of this year.

Some good news….I get lots of genuine tail wags every morning when I come downstairs. She makes regular eye contact with me, which is a huge improvement! She still doesn’t come to me for pets and scratches, but she doesn’t shy away from them either. She literally bounds out of her crate for treats, and will trot around the dining room table waiting for me to hurry up and bring her a hot dog. (She only gets a few bites in the evening with her meds now–she’s been getting a bit too chunky, so we’re cutting back on the goodies!) Last month, she went on her first road trip with my daughter and me….we went to Indiana to visit family, and she was a perfect traveler! She loves riding in the car, and while we were at my sister’s and my mom’s, she stayed on her cushion, and didn’t pee on anyone’s floor! (Always a good thing in my book, since I’ve shampooed my carpet more times than I care to discuss…) She sat quietly while “strangers” came to pet her, and didn’t try to run away. She has also been to Petco twice. She’s not happy about going there, but she will begrudgingly walk around the store and politely sniff all the toys and bones I stick in front of her nose. I was actually amazed….the first time we took her there, she didn’t show much interest in anything, but stopped dead in her tracks to sniff at a big bag of dog food. Believe it or not, it was the exact brand and flavor that I’ve been feeding her! So out of that whole entire store, she seemed to recognize HER dog food!

On the minus side, her cough isn’t getting any better. It might even be a little worse. She still scratches too, although not as much as when we first got her. I have her on a really low dose of the steroid–just 1/4 pill a day. When I raise the dosage, we have more peeing issues. Knock on wood, she hasn’t peed in her crate in a couple weeks now.

So, all in all, I’m proud of the progress she has made, but boy is it ever slow goin’!

Last week I took Lady and Murphy outside to have John take some new pictures. You know how hard it is to get your kids to both look at the camera and smile at the same time? Well, dogs are no different.

See?

Hey, I told you guys to SIT!

This is a little better!

Do we get treats for this?

Me and my Ladybug….

Ohhhh, WHY do you make me do these things???

I also caught a picture of her, sound asleep on a blanket OUTSIDE of her crate. Is this cuteness or what?

Sweet dreams, pretty girl!

Speaking of sweet dreams, I think it’s bedtime for me too! Thanks for checking in, and have a wonderful Fall!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

